23 Weeks and the Baby is a …

Baby bump at 23 weeks! Boston is always stealing the show.

file_000-20I was hoping to write weekly or biweekly updates to my pregnancy (for my benefit and memories) but that clearly hasn’t happened. #firstmomfail  But I quickly learned that the pregnancy process ebbs and flows so quickly, you really just do your best to keep up and anything extra was simply that…extra.

I’ve had several people ask how I’ve been feeling and how are things going. So a quick update on weeks 1-23…things have been pretty good. When you wait so long to finally get pregnant, you try not to complain about actually being pregnant. You feel guilty because this is what you wanted after all. But really, I have been very blessed and not had too many pesky symptoms.

Don’t kill me when I confess that I really didn’t have morning sickness. I attribute this to all of the hormonal treatments leading up to this point that have continually asked my body to be changing hormone levels all the time. (This is probably not true, but I found comfort in it.)

I did however experience extreme fatigue. Never in my life have I been so tired as I was in the first trimester. I was actually sleeping at night (first time ever in my life). I would take a quick nap at my work desk (sorry boss). I would walk to the train (stopping at Temple Square to use the bathroom –thanks again Sisters!) and sleep on my way home. Once home, all I wanted to do was sleep. Even after all that sleep I was still exhausted! It was during this time I took about 5 weeks off of running. I tried to walk for an hour on the treadmill but this was usually more wishful thinking than anything.

Starting at 13 weeks I began running again–and feeling like myself again. I have minor aches/pains/discomforts but when I run, it all goes away. I’m not running fast or far but I am running. I have no great pictures though because all my running has been done inside. We’ve had a brutal winter and I simply don’t trust myself to not fall on the snow/ice. So picture me on my treadmill, watching the Today show, with the AC blowing directly on me–and that’s how I’ve been running. 🙂

16 weeks is when I felt the baby for the first–and it was not a magical moment. I was so excited to experience this and had heard it was such a special moment. However, the baby would roll and I immediately felt so sick! I would get up and walk around to get the baby to stop rolling. Don’t worry, now I really do enjoy feeling the baby kick and move. We also found out the gender of the baby at 16 weeks.

file_004-8

17 weeks I remember not being a favorite. This week for some reason was way more difficult. Lots of aches and new pains. No sleep due to my hips aching all night long. I had nausea off and on. It was a tough week and I remember being glad it was over so I could move forward.

I was able to go to Disney World with my sisters, Zak, and Maddie at 20-21 weeks. We had a 7 day hopper pass and 3 “rest” days. I was fairly nervous about how I would do and how much I would slow the group down. But it went really well! I got sick my first day at the park when it got hot (apparently a stark difference from the 10 degree Utah weather we left behind) but once I learned I needed to hydrate earlier prior to the heat and eat ice chips (or let’s be honest, a Dole Whip) to cool down, I felt great!  I also learned the fastest way to     every.single.bathroom in all 4 parks! So if you’re ever in need, I’m your girl.

file_005-7

Upon coming home from Florida, I got the Utah cold that has been around all winter. In a nutshell, it was awful and I’m so glad to be on the up and up from it. Once I felt better, I started running to help break up the congestion which I hear stays forever! But again, returning to running makes me feel like myself–not an ever growing belly, pregnant lady. 🙂

This Boss comforting me during my cold. Such a snuggly pup!

file_000-21

I’m still wearing my normal jeans/pants but switched to some maternity shirts around week 21. I will probably have to break down soon here and get some maternity pants. I had read several articles that talked about the moment you “pop” and it happened in Florida. I woke up one morning and looked down and thought, “Where did that come from?!” There is no denying now that I’m pregnant and not just the person who ate too much during the holidays.

And probably the only reason you’re still reading…the baby’s gender!

Gender reveal brought to you from the Magic Kingdom in Orlando.

file_000-19

Baby Sroufe is a boy!!! We are beyond excited. Mike thought the baby was a girl and I thought it was a boy. Mom intuition for the win!

file_001-12

We made cupcakes and filled them with a blue colored frosting and shared them with loved ones.

As luck would have it, we had a name all picked out for a girl so naturally we’re having a boy. We’ve learned that naming a child is hard! It’s a big deal but we’re slowly narrowing the options down and will eventually decide on one.

We’re super excited! Baby boy is growing big and healthy. We can’t wait to meet him in person!

file_000-23

Any advice for having and raising a boy?

Any advice for the remainder of pregnancy? This is all new territory to me.

 

 

 

 

One thought on “23 Weeks and the Baby is a …

Leave a Reply

