Mike’s getting Old! + Lantern Fest

Mike had a birthday! (8/20/16) I’m also convinced he went through a morning birthday crisis…he went running! Running?! We had plans for breakfast and 4 wheeling so when a friend text early in the morning to see if I wanted to run with her, I thought it best to check in with Mike but I couldn’t find him or the dog.

So I decided to go running with my friend–I’ll never pass up a chance to run with another human let alone a good friend. We went out for a few miles and it was great! We’re starting to get into the cooler fall temperatures so it was perfect weather.

Anyway, back to Mike’s birthday crisis, I found him in bed laying down when I returned. I asked where he went and he said “I went for a run.” WHAT?! Ok–this has only happened NEVER in our marriage. He also said we couldn’t go 4 wheeling because we had too much work to do on the house. Umm…ok…weirdo. Naturally I left to go chat with my sister about this bizarre man laying in my bed. That’s what sisters are for right?

No worries though, he snapped out of it. We ate a yummy breakfast full of Mickey Mouse pancakes and everybody’s favorite–BACON! Then we loaded up the 4 wheelers and headed out for a long ride.

File_001 (2)

Since we had some time, we decided to go from Squaw Peak Road to Hobble Creek Canyon. We rode this not too long ago but the trees are reminding me that summer is coming to an end. The leaves are beginning to change and what was once green and lush is now turning red/orange/yellow.

File_004

We came into this big valley and it was gorgeous! I had to stop and take a picture.

File_002 (2)

We aren’t big celebrators so I was so pleased with myself when months ago I coordinated with my sister and purchased tickets to do something fun for Mike’s birthday. I tried to keep it a secret but he had to sign a waiver. The waiver went something like this, “I _______ agree that I might get burned, cut, hit, smashed with large amounts of fire. I also understand that certain death is inevitable and am still OK with this”. So not that extreme but pretty close. Mike got an email to sign this waiver (I didn’t inform him it would be coming. I was hoping he would sign his life away–no questions asked.) but instead he deleted the email and later told me he got a weird email that day. Since he had to sign the waiver I had to disclose my not-so-secret secret.

File_009

After 4 wheeling, we loaded up the van and off we went. We showed up early because we wanted a good pick of fire pits. Our kits came with s’mores goodness–truly they were the best s’mores. I think it was because the chocolate was already slightly warm due to it being so hot. Basically the event is to send off lanterns like the kind you see for Rapunzel’s birthday on Tangled along with s’mores and entertainment.

File_006 (1)

We each got a lantern and a marker to decorate it. Mike showed off his art skills–I tried to copy him. But I was proud of my work until I realized my birthday cake for Mike was drawn upside down. Now you can see why I’m not the architect. The kids did a great job too. I think the glasses were pure inspiration! 🙂

File_007 (1)

Many people use this as an opportunity to write down notes to loved ones passed on, dreams they are hoping for, things they want to move forward from–I wrote down one thing I am dreaming of. 🙂 (Think lush green leaves, warm, beautiful sunets.)

File_008

They provided live music and the guy was legit. It was relaxing watching the sunset, cooking s’mores, and enjoying each other’s company. When it was dark–show time! Again, I’m sad about the no videos thing on the blog because the pictures simply don’t do the event justice.

File_004 (1)

The premise was easy. You light the square in the middle on fire and let the lantern fill up with heat. Once it starts lifting up, you let go–think hot air balloon. There was an occasional breeze that would come through and mess up this whole process. Admittedly, it was a little stressful trying to get the fuel device on fire then hoping it would go up as demonstrated. Due to the wind, many of them would blow sideways instead of up. I suppose this was indicative of my life. It took me 3 tries before mine successfully went up and this was after bumping into people–remember that whole “sign your life away” waiver?

File_001 (3)

It was an incredible sight to see all the lanterns floating up and away! They said there were 7,000 people there so try to imagine that many lanterns all floating up. I would recommend this event to anyone thinking of going. I’d also recommend mom’s watch out for your children during the event. Birthday Boy!

File_003 (2)

Mike was helping Nicole with one, and I kid you not, it went up only slightly and like a bullet went straight for this mom and her baby. The opening of the lantern where the fuel device is–you know where there is a big flame–encapsulated this kid! Thankfully, it bounced right off and no one was harmed or burned. The mom even laughed it off. So naturally, like a good, responsible adult I got the giggles–rendered useless again.

File_002 (3)

Once again, it was great to have a fun summer evening spent with the family lighting things on fire. (I should write about cul-de-sac fire some time).

Copy of File_000 (1)

Anyway, Happy Birthday Mike! We sure do love you!

Leave a Reply

