Camping Trip! Part 2: Cascade Springs and a Little Bit of Luck

As part of our trip we visited Cascade Springs. It was just a short drive on the ATV’s down the road to the trail head. Again, no worries, the baby and Boston got a ride in the Jeep with Mike.

File_005 (3)

I’ve never been here so I didn’t really know what to expect. It was gorgeous!

File_007 (2)

A sign told us 7.5 million gallons of water pass through the springs every day! Every day!

File_004 (3)

I’m not sure why I thought it was a good idea to bring the dog other than we couldn’t leave him back at camp by himself. He made it about .02 seconds before jumping into the first pool we came to. Oops! I didn’t take a picture because I was too busy being judged by the people who saw this. 🙂

File_006 (3)

They had a paved trail that created a loop system that you could walk on to the various pools. It really was beautiful. We forgot a carrier for the baby so he got carted on a hip for the journey. I don’t think he cared one bit about being cuddled the whole time.

File_002 (4)

As we were leaving, Maddie decided to cross the river on the logs–not on the bridge like a normal person. Zak was a good big brother and showed her how it was done. Maddie made it about .08 seconds before she fell off the log into the river.

File_000 (9)

She made a quick recovery and said, “No, I can do this.” Ok baby girl–even when you’re soaking wet, we’ll still love you.

Now, don’t let this baby’s cuteness fool you. He can be a real stinker–literally. Ok, so he’s basically the perfect baby. Eats, sleeps, and is happy all the time but sometimes he can render grown adults helpless. Now this story is a little graphic and not for the faint of heart –myself included here.

On the first night we noticed a little stinky stink and couldn’t blame the dog since he wasn’t around so it had to be the baby. Since Mike and Nicole were busy I thought I’d be helpful and offer my diaper changing services. I started unraveling the layers of clothes and made my way to the diaper to discover, yup he’s poopy. I took a deep breath and reminded myself that I could do this. I started cleaning the baby only to realize the poop was everywhere! Poop up his back. Poop down his legs. So much poop! He’s also at the stage where he doesn’t like sitting still to get a diaper change so before I knew it I was holding up a poopy baby and cried out–in giggles–for help. The giggles hit fast, like a puma, and I couldn’t see due to the tears streaming down my face. Help came and Mike kicked me out of the process. He said I wasn’t helpful and just smearing not cleaning. Let it be known that Mike will handle parenthood better than I will. And Nicole’s a champ after having raised two babies.

File_001 (5)

I got the giggles over the baby a second time. We nicknamed him the “beat-boxing-baby”. He went on a two minute string of beat boxing type sounds and it was epic! The kids got a career. I took a short video of it but the blog won’t let me post it…maybe it’s time to upgrade.

While watching the Olympics tonight a lady bug landed on Mike. I really hope it’s good luck. We could use some luck this week.

Uh, Mike…it’s a lady bug…they bring good luck no need to be afraid.

File_002

That’s better. Happy face 🙂

File_000 (1)

And a daily dose of cuddling with Boston who is not loving all the Olympic watching. Mom and Dad on the couch means no long walk for him. Sorry buddy–we’ll get back to normal in another week.

File_001

Anyone want to walk my dog?!

Favorite camping spots?

One thought on “Camping Trip! Part 2: Cascade Springs and a Little Bit of Luck

Leave a Reply

