Annual Camping Trip + 4 Wheelers Part 1

We had our family camp out this past weekend and it was awesome! By family I mean my sister and the kids, Boston, Mike, and my other nephew (he’s the cutest baby!)

We went to a place called Little Deer Creek Campground. The trip started off a little rough as there was a bad accident up Provo Canyon and it took us 45 minutes to get a few miles up the canyon. I literally could have ran faster than we drove. But when you’ve got this tongue in your face, how can you complain? Ok, I complained.

File_005 (4)

We’ve never been to this campground before but we went because rumor had it they had awesome ATV trails. However, we may have underestimated the road conditions to get there. It was a dirt road, paved road (sort of) and extremely rocky dirt road. With each bumpy mile I was more impressed with my sister’s minivan which also made the journey.

We saw our first sign of wildlife…running right in front of us. Boston went crazy over the deer. He was already hanging out the window but tried to climb out to go meet his would-be friend Bambi.

File_004 (4)

We got settled into camp Friday night and we were all hungry so dinner was served…not! We had planned pita pizza pockets (a great camping meal I learned from a friend) however, we didn’t have a lighter or matches. We had a lighter that sort of sparked. We were going to settle with ham and cheese sandwiches when we realized we didn’t have bread. Things were going well 🙂 Then I remembered we had gasoline! Mike poured some on the wood and paper towel, got a spark from his lighter and boom! A big blazing ball of fire…pizza was served.

We sat and chatted around the fire until it died out. We showed the kids some of the constellations we could find. Then we tried to sleep. Mike and I had the baby and the dog in the tent with us. I’ll sum it up by saying my FitBit told me I slept 2 hours and 55 minutes that night. The baby was pretty great. He was up once to eat some food and back to bed. The dog however…he struggles when he’s excited and wants to play (think Ana here “the sky is awake so I am awake”). He made it until about 3:30 AM when he decided he was done sleeping. Thankfully Mike was up at 6 with both the dog and the baby. He’s the best!

Saturday morning Nicole, the kids, and Mike headed out for their first ride. No worries, the baby didn’t go. He’s such a smiley baby!

File_002 (5)

I stayed back with the sleeping baby and pup. This was my view from the tent.

File_003 (4)

They came back from their ride boasting about an incredible view so I was not going to miss out. Mike took me up the trail to check out this view. This is overlooking Heber Valley.

File_001 (6)

We went a little further up the road and met a family whose vehicle had a flat tire. They didn’t have a jack to raise up their Land Rover so we graciously helped out. We rode back to camp to get a jack they could use but not without leaving my little adventure buddy behind. This little girl was always willing to go out on the 4 wheelers.

File_008 (1)

She got a little impatient (no surprise there) but we explained that we help people who need help when we can. After changing their flat tire, they learned their spare also had a flat. Oh no! We felt terrible for them. They were great people and the situation was just unfortunate. We saw them later in the day and found out they got new tires.  Yea!

File_009 (2)

Did I mention the view we had from up here? This is overlooking Deer Creek Reservoir.

File_000

It was a fantastic day full of adventure as Onix and Brutus took us over miles of rocky trails.

On a different note, my workout consisted of a 20 minute HIIT leg workout followed by 30 minutes of sprints on the treadmill which watching the Olympics! Nothing can inspire you more while sprinting than watching people achieving their dreams.

Any favorite ATV trails?

What was your workout today?

 

Leave a Reply

